During certain troubleshooting situations, it may be necessary to restore all of the PLAYSTATION 3 system settings back to their original "default" configuration. This will not delete any files from the PLAYSTATION 3 hard drive, this will just restore the PLAYSTATION 3 settings back to factory default.
Restore Default Settings
- From the XMB home menu, go to (Settings) > (System Settings) > [Restore Default Settings].
- Once you select [Restore Default Settings], you will see a list of settings that will be restored. Scroll through them and press the button to restore the settings.
- After the operation is complete, you will see the initial setup screen that appeared the first time you turned on the PLAYSTATION 3.
You will need to go through the initial set up process before you can use the PLAYSTATION 3.
The Restore Default Settings feature will erase any previously saved settings and restore all of the following settings to the default:
- BD/DVD Settings
- Music Settings
- Chat Settings
- System Settings
- Date and Time Settings
- Accessory Settings
- Display Settings
- Sound Settings
- Security Settings
- Network Settings
- Internet Browser Settings
Also, do not confuse [Restore Default Settings] with the [Restore PS3 System] option (the next option down on the menu). The [Restore PS3 System] will not only restore the default settings, but it will also delete all hard disk content. (You will lose all saved content from your PS3 system's hard drive if you use [Restore PS3 System].)
If you need to restore your video settings to default, please click here for instructions.
Add to del.icio.us Digg It!